Thessaloniki..I’m here!

April 4, 2013

Well, what an experience. I am sitting in my little room with my own bathroom and kitchen area, my Yiayia and Papous are sleeping in their apartment next door (it’s called ipnaki-little sleep) after our massive meal (again). I would seriously be the size of a house in no time at all if I lived here!

There’s sooooooooo much to write about!

Mum and Dad have gone out for a walk. I decided to stay in and write my blog and see if Lee is around. He’s not. He is at work as I knew but I had to check. I miss him so much. We haven’t seen each other since I left, on Skype I mean, cos of a few factors, mainly that I haven’t been able to get online til this afternoon. ‘Greekgran’ and Papous haven’t got internet connection so I have been calling Lee on my mobile before sleep. I am 2 hours ahead of him now so luckily he has finished work by the time I call at about 12 UK time (2am here haha!) It’s really nice here. Y&P have only got 2 bedrooms now as they have made one of their smaller bedrooms into a dining area. When my Dad lived here, there was him and his sister as well. (She is coming on Saturday, Sofia is her name. I met her once when she came to visit us but I can’t really remember her). Now M&D are in the only spare room but Y&P own a little studio next door which in Greek is called a ‘Garconiera’. They used to rent it out but haven’t had a tenant in there for a few months. Yiayia said I may as well sleep there as the sofa is a bit uncomfortable in the apartment. I am so glad cos I get my space (to Skype/talk to Lee) and go to bed/get up what time I want and Yiayia has put some coffee (fuck it’s STRONG!) in here and some stuff for breaky (hard rings of bread with sesame seeds on. I can’t remember what they are called but I love them).

images

 

I have also got a little balcony. I want to stay here forever! The evenings have been really mild and I have been sitting out on a little chair and listening to the city streets below and the Greeks being loud. They are soooo noisy. I can also see into other people’s apartments cos the streets are narrow around here. I love it! I wish Lee was here. I took this and put it in black and white cos it suits the vibe of this city…

images (6)

So anyways I am able to be online thanks to a new friend of mine called Dimitri. He lives next door and we bumped into each other in the lift yesterday when I was with the oldies. He spoke to Yiayia and Papous (from now on Y&P) and said Hi to me and after he got out downstairs, my Dad translated from what Yiayia said that he is a good kid who always helps Y&P out when they need. I get the impression that Greek kids are much more respectful of old people than we are in UK. I have seen kids help old people across the roads and they speak to them in respectful ways from what I can tell. I don’t know what anyone is saying, I have to admit, they all talk so frickin fast! He did come in later and we talked for a bit. Get this…..He is studying Business and Finance at Manchester Uni! Not far at all from where I live. He is home for Easter hols as it’s a big celebration here. He said he’s pretty busy this week but offered to take me out to see some sites and go for a drink with his friends. Fucking Dad was quick to point out I am not yet 18! OMG! Anyways we have arranged to go out tomorrow for a coffee at the port front where all the bars and cafes are. I can’t wait. Just as mates though, however gorgeous he is. And he really is! Oh yeh…he gave me his key code or whatever for his internet so I hooked up to his. At 7 o’clock, Dimitri told me that he is gonna be on his balcony with some mates of his jamming! So basically I can sit on my balcony and his is right next to mine so I can sit right at the end and join in. There isn’t much privacy living in a block of apartments like this one. Totally the opposite to my attic room!

So what have we done so far.

It was awesome on Tuesday cos Pops took me to the airport at stupid o’clock to get my 6:30am flight. I was monged out to fuck and didn’t wake up properly til I landed in Thessaloniki. It was then about 11:30 being 2 hours ahead of Uk and it was pretty warm when I got off the plane. Dead weird was the sense of bustle…I can’t explain it well, just that Greeks seem to be really loud and over the top. All I could hear was this weird language and like they were all arguing. I have realised that they are not though…well most of the time anyway!

images (1)

I got this off the internet..just to show how Thessaloniki is written in Greek letters.

Dad was there with Papous and Mum in his ancient car. I couldn’t believe it! Paps was talking non stop and poor Mum was just shrugging her shoulders at me as she didn’t understand a fucking word they were saying. Paps seemed ace and kept Dad busy asking me stuff through him. He LIKES my blue hair! Suck on THAT Mum and Dad who told me to wash it out before I came here cos they were conventional the Greeks. Yeh ok. Do you know how many colours of hair I’ve seen and I’ve only been here a few days! Shut up dad…….

We drove towards the city and I was quite surprised by all the high rises…but somehow they are NICE not like in UK. Y&P live in an area East of the city centre which is quite modern compared to the centre itself. I love the city centre by the way. We went yesterday. It’s just BEAUTIFUL. I’d call it shabby chic…just the right place for a rock music video or a horror film. I have got some photos but they aren’t great. I will put them at the end of this post.

So then we get to the apartment block and go up in the retro lift to the 5th floor. How much do I love this building? I could hear weird music coming from behind the doors I guessed it was traditional Greek. It made me feel like I was back in time. Oh my God I love it! I will post some Greek music as well.

Yiayia. Well I fell in love with her the moment I saw her! She is tiny and has got the strongest hug ever! She wouldn’t let me breath and she was saying stuff to me and stroking my face, then she started crying! Dad translated and she was saying stuff like I was her flower and her heart! Oh my God. We sat on the balcony and she made us Greek coffee which I nearly choked on it was so strong, and Yiayia did not stop to breath I swear down. Mum was just sat there smiling and trying to understand. Paps was quiet but he was smiling at me the whole time. I got the distinct impression that the women are the dominant forces in a Greek household. Go Yiayia! She kept calling me ‘Paythee moo’ (that’s what it sounds like) and it means ‘my child’ and also ‘kartheea moo’ MY HEART. I love both of them! She kept bringing out mounds of homemade biscuits. I felt fucking sick by 1 o’clock and then she announced it was time to eat! WTF now? Hahahaha.

THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! Dad had already explained that I don’t eat meat, which they couldn’t understand at all. I tried to get Dad to explain but it seemed to fall on dead ears that I love animals and don’t want to eat them. Dad explained to me that in Greece it’s not really understood. There was so much lamb on that table that I thought I would throw up at one point, but Mum kept nudging me under the table as if to say, try not to look so disgusted. I ate a lot though…some FUCKING AMAZING things called Dolmathakia which are leaves stuffed with rice. I know it sounds gross but believe me it’s SCRUMMY.

download

Also Yiayia, bless her, made stuffed tomatoes and peppers (with rice in) oh MAN, and also THE most delicious roast potatoes I have EVER tasted.

download (1)

 

Greek food. YEH BABY! And then the sweets. Well, you can imagine! I seriously thought I was gonna explode all over the dining room.

Then it was nap time for Y&P and so first her and Dad showed me the garconiera. I was well pleased with it! Here’s a photo of the bed area. Look you can see my lap top there on the bed. And no, that’s NOT my big soft bear there, it was DAD’s!!!! And you can see Dad’s school books and stuff in the old bookcase. If you turn from this view to the right there’s the door to the bathroom and the room opens out with a sofa and kitchen bit with big doors on to the balcony. It’s got a cute oven that sits on top of the work surface with 3 rings on the top of it. Yiayia showed me how to make the Greek coffee for my wake up. I boil it IN a metal jug on the hob! That TV is ace as well. So old. Lots of channels with Greeks talking too fast for comprehension, but I found a film last night in English with the weird Greek subtitles along the bottom. I really really want to learn this amazing language.

tumblr_m89341HUmx1qbqu46o1_1280 (2)

 

oh Dad’s calling me (well knocking on the wall and now he’s on the balcony next door calling me)….I’ll be back….

 

 

Leave a Reply

