Sunday sanctuary

November 18, 2012

Having a break from college work. I haven’t been out anywhere at all this weekend, not even to Kate’s. I saw Lisa (Lee’s sister) when I took Chester for a walk earlier on, but only a quick hi from over the fence. I should try and go round and see her more but to be honest, it’s hard to sit there when Lee’s not there. It makes me really sad and I get home and feel depressed. I don’t want to bug her about Lee, like ask her if he ever says anything to her about me (they’re really close) and I can’t ever think of much else to talk about. She’s not at college any more, she decided to do a Hairdressing Course instead. We kind of lost contact.

So really, nothing much to write about. I love weekends where Mum and Dad don’t disturb me and I can stay up in my room on my own. It’s fricking freezing out there anyway and apart from taking Chester for walks, I don’t feel like going out. Summer is cool because even when it rains it’s not too cold and that smell of sun drenched earth rises up and it’s refreshing. Winter is great viewed from indoors! I can see a lot from my attic room anyway. The tops of the trees as they sway and throw their mottled, burned leaves around. The birds taking flight to hide under the woodland canopies. The rain as it sweeps through the woods, showering the trees and mudding up the paths and fields. I’m warm. I never close my curtains. I love watching the dusk and twilight and how shadows are cast and the shapes that come forth. The trees dance, blackened against the purple sky. Clouds dyed ink against charcoal canvas. When it pours the rain flows like bent forks down the glass, distorting the view of the world outside. Just as I see it.

Stella is always asking me what the hell I do at the weekends. Well, Friday night I’m usually with Kate just chilling out at hers, listening to music and watching films. (On Friday night we watched ‘Chronical’ I’ll write more about that later.) Most of the time I stay over because it’s a half hour drive and Dad refuses to pick me up after 11pm. I get back Saturday morning and take Chester for his morning walk (By the way, Chester’s my labrador pup, well not so much a pup now, he’s about 6 months old! I LOVE him sooooo much. I nearly lost him in the summer, again part of that whole nightmare scenario that I try not to think about, so he’s like my most precious thing now.) I walk him despite the rain and cold and I take him to all my favourite woodland places behind the house. Lee and I have explored everywhere and I always think he’s going to pop out from behind a tree at any moment and pounce on me. I miss him!!!

Then I usually help Mum a bit around the house (draaaaaaaaag) but again, after all that has happened it’s kind of the least I can do. We get along ok now, although she still gets on my tits when she tries to tell me what to do. I mean, I know parents are supposed to know best, but at the end of the day, they are not ME. They don’t know what goes on in my head. No one does to be honest. Dad is cool and we have some good talks, although I don’t see him that much what with his surgery and stuff. He’s sometimes out nights as well on call so then during the day I have to be all quiet cos he sleeps. I can do quiet as my room is at the top of the house. Away from everyone. It’s my haven!

After lunch it’s college work, although I have to fight the urge to do other things. It’s hard to get down to work when you know you’ve got Sunday as well. I used to be really bad at it, like leaving homework till Sunday evening. Truth is I can’t do that now I’m doing A levels. As I’ve already said, there’s LOADS. Still don’t think I can handle it…..

Saturday nights are a bit shitty. Lee always calls (well that is if he’s not with ANNABELLE) and we have a got chat. Too bad he’s still not on Skype, but I can’t persuade him. He says it’s too expensive to have an internet connection what with the amount of money his parents already pay out for his Halls and everyday stuff. London is expensive. I like cosying up on my bed with my laptop, watching music vids on Youtube or dvds. I’m usually into a good read but do that at night before I go to sleep. At the moment I’m reading a weird book called The Sensualist. It’s cool. My sort of book. Spooky and chilling with a bit of mystery:

Here’s the link to details:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/553069.The_Sensualist

I also LOVE all books so far by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I mean OMG so gothic, so dark and so full of suspense! I’m a sucker for books about books and writing, so this is probs my favourite:

Check out the Synopsis!

‘Buried in the back streets of Barcelona lies the Cemetery of Lost Books – a mausoleum for out-of-print works, salvaged by the bibliophiles of the city. There, 10-year-old Daniel Sempere discovers a book called The Shadow of the Wind, by Julián Carax, which captures his young imagination.

But when he investigates this unknown author, he finds out that his is the last surviving copy, as a mysterious figure called Laín Coubert has dedicated himself to eradicating Carax’s work completely. But in Carax’s book, Laín Coubert is the name of the Devil.’

HELL YEAH! 🙂

Anyway I digress.

I’ve just noticed the time. Oh Balls. So much work to do for tomorrow. I’ll try and post again tonight, later though. Much later!

‘Every book, every volume you see here, has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it. Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens.’
Carlos Ruiz Zafón‘s Shadow of the Wind.

 

3 Responses to “Sunday sanctuary”

  1. Friedovoive Says:

    Yet it’s not a good idea to get carried away and make the blog about your family or outside interests. Your topic will also influence how personal or professional you want to come across in your style. You should not, however, blog about anything that you wouldn’t write in a business email.

    cheap jordans

    With a little bit more research and time from you, we are sure you’ll come up with a profit-building blogging strategy!

    jordans outlet


  2. […] Sunday sanctuary (caseyepapadaki.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

